14
Aug
09

Man and Animals-Yuri Dmitriyev

russianbook040

Published in Moscow by Raduga in 1984, translated from the Russian into English by Raissa Bobrova, “Man and Animals” is an out-of-print book on man’s relationship with animals through the ages. I recently spotted the unforgettable cover featuring a giraffe, a sea serpent or kraken, a mythical Arabian Nights type bird (Rukh) carrying an elephant, a schooner, a butterfly and an anachronistic helicopter, on an Ebay listing for “Rare and antiquarian literature”. Though I was tempted to buy it, the book wasn’t cheap at thirty dollars. A brief search later, I found it on Amazon for four dollars and it is now sitting on my bookshelf, between a Harry Potter and a Fyodor Dostoevsky.

Like many Russian titles from the Soviet Era, the author remains largely mysterious; is he a zoologist, a wild life writer or just someone who happens to love animals? The back cover is blank, except for a small sticker in the bottom left that has the letters, “Imported Publications” on it with an Illinois address underneath. In this post-glasnost era, there still exists a limited market for Soviet relics, including Fairy Tale Books, Matryoshka dolls, communist propaganda and other items that are slowly vanishing into obscurity. As a result, thousands of excellent Russian books on a variety of subjects from Mathematics to Culture have been relegated to flotsam after a wreckage.

russianbook2041 Next to an outline of a sea populated by even more fantastic creatures, the author gives a brief description and I am quoting from it :

One book is not really enough to tell about the many different relationships between Man and animals. Nor have I tried to embrace the subject in its entirety. I wrote this book for children, striving, above all, to make them understand how important it is to know, love and protect animals”.

Indeed, the author’s passion is manifest on every page. In lucid prose, he brings together history, zoology and anthropology, re-iterating how dependent man has been on animals for survival. Almost encyclopedic in scope, the book is rich in content, including in its pages prehistoric cave paintings, animal legends, Gerald Durell, Martha-the last passenger pigeon, the coelacanth and numerous black and white photographs, drawings and reproductions so that even if a child was reluctant to read, it could spend hours staring at the pictures, like I once did.

russianbook044-1 russianbook042

18 Responses to “Man and Animals-Yuri Dmitriyev”


  1. 1 Anne De Plume
    October 14, 2009 at 4:03 pm

    I was very happy to stumble across your site and write-ups. Very impressive articles and great historicizing. I was surprised by your flair to collect books that are out of print and rare. Enjoyed visiting your site 🙂 …. Thanks for sharing your treasure with the world.

  2. October 14, 2009 at 7:08 pm

    Thank you so much for reading Anne; your visit means a lot to me. :–)

    Arjun

  3. 3 Arun
    August 5, 2010 at 6:03 pm

    I came across this book in a second-hand book store and got it for a bargain price of Rs.40(INR).Yet to read though.Looks interesting.Nice post.Kudos.

  4. 4 Arun
    August 5, 2010 at 6:04 pm

    I came across this book in a second-hand book store and gpicked it up for a bargain price of Rs.40(INR).Yet to read though.Looks interesting.Nice post.Kudos.

  5. 5 Spirit
    May 21, 2011 at 7:10 am

    I also came across this in a second-hand bookstore, 2 years ago. It was one amazing read. Then I came to this site while looking for a picture of the book’s cover for my blog, and I’m very glad to see people who also think good of the book. Thanks for reminding me of such a great read.

  6. 6 Jaswinder Sandhu
    September 1, 2011 at 10:18 pm

    This is an extraordinary book. I have a Ph.D. in Zoology. I taught about wildlife in a university for about 9 years and used this book as a starting block for my training in wildlife science. This is as full of knowledge as animals are of secrets or may be a little less than them as many of these secrets are being discovered every now and then. This is one of the best books I have read in my life. I bought it back in 1982 as it was not at all expensive in a Soviet book store in India. Thanks to the extraordinary Yuri Dmitriyev and Raisa Bobrova (forexcellent translation) and earlier USSR for making it available at a price which I could pay to have it for my life.

  7. December 31, 2011 at 11:28 am

    I TOO HAVE THIS IN MY PERSONAL COLLECTION AND ITS AN AMAZING BOOK WITH RARE PICS.I WAS FORTUNATE TO GET IT FROM A RUSSIAN BOOKS EXHIBITION IN 1990S BUT NOW THEY DONT HOLD SUCH EXHIBITS ANY MORE.I STILL LOOK FOR SUCH MORE BOOKS .ANY IDEA.

  8. November 28, 2013 at 11:46 pm

    I don’t even understand how I ended up right here,
    however I believed this put up was good. I do not know who you might be but
    definitely you are going to a famous blogger if you happen to are
    not already. Cheers!

  9. March 20, 2014 at 8:30 am

    Interesting article, and well presented.

    I have worked as a professional cleaner for 10 years and
    the exact same issues apply in my industry.

    These kind of issues need to be discussed at a higher level and get sorted once and for all.

    Oh well, back to my cleaning chores I suppose, but I did enjoy this post immensely.

  10. March 30, 2014 at 2:14 pm

    Surely green energy is what all countrirs around the world should be
    promoting?

    The facts are there in blawck and white for us all to see, green energy just makes
    sense.

    The money savings can be vast for commercial operations and consumers alike.

    I am always amazed how many people out there still nneed tto be persuaded of the
    financial benefits that can be made by installing solar
    panels.

  11. April 8, 2014 at 4:20 pm

    I believe everything wrote was actually
    very reasonable. However, what about this? suppose you composed a catchier
    title? I am not suggesting your information is
    not solid, however what if you added a title that
    makes people desire more? I mean Man and Animals-Yurri Dmitriyev | Northern Lights is kinda plain.

    You ought to lance at Yahoo’s home page and watch how they crete
    post headlines to get people to open the links.
    You might add a video or a picture or ttwo to get readers excited about
    everything’ve got to say. In my opinion, it might bring your posts a little bit more interesting.

  12. April 12, 2014 at 2:26 am

    It’s remarlable to pay a visit this website annd reading the views of aall mates on the topic of this post, while I am also zealopus
    off getting experience.

  13. 15 Krishna Mohan
    May 5, 2014 at 10:16 am

    Its one of the best books in my collection, I still remember the days, when I used to wonder at the rare pics in my school days, back in 1990s, almost after 1 years I purchased it from a second hand collection. its really informative resource, which can make a man more alert and aware towards the world of animals, which he shares his existence

  14. August 20, 2014 at 8:08 pm

    I’m gone to convey my little brother, that he should also pay
    a quick visit this web site on regular basis to obtain updated from hottest news update.

  15. July 18, 2015 at 2:46 pm

    Simply desire to say your article is as astonishing. The
    clearness to your put up is simply spectacular and that i can think you’re an expert in this subject.

    Well together with your permission allow me to take hold of your feed to stay up to date
    with impending post. Thank you 1,000,000 and please continue the rewarding work.

  16. April 7, 2016 at 1:34 pm

    I’m curious to find out what blog platform you’re utilizing?
    I’m having some minor security problems with my latest blog and I’d like
    to find something more risk-free. Do you have any suggestions?


Leave a Reply

Pages

August 2009
M T W T F S S
« May   Jun »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Recent Comments

Prabhavathy Krishnam… on Remembering MISHA
Keva Vasconcelos on Remembering MISHA
Pranjit Bora on Remembering MISHA
Aprajita on Remembering MISHA
Julia Coronado Pin on Remembering MISHA

Categories


